Montrose Fire Protection District

About the District

The Montrose Fire Protection District (MFPD) provides fire protection, emergency medical services, technical rescue, and hazardous materials response to a geographical area of over 1100 square miles in eastern Montrose County and portions of Ouray and Gunnison counties using a combination of paid and volunteer personnel.

The MFPD is an independent taxing special district that operates under the leadership of an elected board of directors.

The MFPD operates three stations, Station One at 441 South Uncompahgre Avenue, Station Two south of Montrose at 65960 Racine Road off of U.S. Highway 550, and Station Three at 62840 Spring Creek Road.